Something verging on two months ago, I noticed that I wasn’t able to reach certain websites that I frequent (usually by way of RSS feeds) from my home Internet connection (a business DSL dry loop through Verizon). Some examples: Foobooz, riotclitshave (it’s a pun on right-click, save; shut up), Jeffrey Morgenthaler’s blog. What these sites have in common is that they are hosted by Dreamhost. The sites weren’t down (using my VPS as a proxy confirmed that without even needing to bother with things like Down for everyone or just me?), they were just failing to send packets back to me, semi-specifically.
I did a bit of research and found that not only did it appear that I was pretty obviously being explicitly blocked, other customers of my ISP were not. This irritated me more than a little bit, since I do like to believe that I have a reasonable idea of what I’m doing, I do take care of the security of my systems and networks at home (although I’ve been known to get a bit lax given that I do this shit all day at work), and I strive to be a very responsible network neighbor.
So I went looking for contact information for Dreamhost on their website… and found things sorely lacking. Web forms yes, one that applied to my situation, not so much. Phone numbers, no. Actual email addresses, no. This didn’t look good, but I went ahead and filled out a web form and emailed, by way of GMail (since any outgoing SMTP connection from my mail server would, of course, be ignored) what I expected to be the Usual Suspects:
Date: Sat, 21 Feb 2009 15:29:05 -0500
Subject: Could you explain why you’re blackholing my source IP address?
From: gabriel rosenkoetter
To: abuse@dreamhost.com, postmaster@dreamhost.com, webmaster@dreamhost.com
For the past several weeks, I have been unable to reach several of your
customer’s websites (for example, foobooz.com and jeffreymorgenthaler.com)
from a source IP address of 71.242.125.164. I also can not reach port 25 on
your MXes (which is why this email is being sent through GMail), and ICMP
traffic (traceroute or ping) to any netblock you own is dropped by your
pnap.net border router (usually newdream-8.border21.lax.pnap.net,
216.52.220.146) marked “administratively prohibited”.
So far as I know, I have done nothing to attack you. My network is not open,
my mail server is secure with valid reverse DNS entries, and I’m not running
any webscraping. Could you please explain why you have blocked my access to
your customers’ web sites and provided me with difficult at best recourse to
contact you?
Dubious that anyone would see either of those (identical) missives, I reached out to some of my contacts in the Industry. By which I mean I asked whether anybody in the IRC channel where some of us sysadmin types hang out (no, that’s no longer EFNet #root for me any more; long story, politics, drama, and baggage) knew anyone at Dreamhost. One responded promptly in the affirmative and was very helpful in passing my query along. Here’s the thing about the lazyweb: you get better results with a self-selectedly intelligent audience, which, curiously, you rarely find on the world wide web proper.
And then I went out for the evening and straight to bed afterwards, only to rise to actual Results the next day! (Well, okay, fine I saw the reply on my iPhone while I was out, but I was in neither mood nor position to deal with it properly then.)
It appears (but I’m not certain: I put the same text in the web form and the email) that it was actually the web form (which I guess involved Sales, since nothing else seemed appropriate and they seemed like the folks who might care that someone couldn’t get to their customers’ web sites)—but maybe it was imajes’s influence? The world may never know!—that yielded the only unautomated response:
From: DreamHost Sales Team
Subject: Re: [REDACTED@gmail.com [REDACTED]] Could you explain why you’re blackholing my source IP address?
Date: Sat, 21 Feb 2009 18:09:29 -0800 (PST)
To: gabriel rosenkoetter
Hello,
Sorry to hear that you’re having trouble accessing our network. Oddly
enough, I checked the server and don’t see that you’re being blocked.
Both in deny host and iptables.
Please run a traceroute and send us the results. It may help us in
identifying where exactly the connecting is being dropped. You can reach
me directly at [REDACTED]@dreamhost.com or [REDACTED]@gmail.com.
Thanks,
Phiya C
To which I, of course, promptly responded:
From: gabriel rosenkoetter < [REDACTED]@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [[REDACTED]@gmail.com [REDACTED]] Could you explain why you’re blackholing my source IP address?
Date: Sun, 22 Feb 2009 12:39:01 -0500
To: [REDACTED]@dreamhost.com, [REDACTED]@gmail.com
Cc: DreamHost Sales Team
Thanks for the quick response!
Here’s a traceroute from 71.242.125.164 (which NATs for systems within my
house) to www.foobooz.com, one of your customers whose website I used to
visit regularly:
traceroute to www.foobooz.com (67.205.11.75), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 L239.DSL-RTR1.PHIL.verizon-gni.net (71.242.125.1) 22.640 ms 22.283 ms 21.962 ms
2 at-1-0-0-1710.CORE-RTR1.PHIL.verizon-gni.net (130.81.7.58) 21.871 ms 22.833 ms 22.739 ms
3 so-7-1-0-0.BB-RTR1.PHIL.verizon-gni.net (130.81.20.136) 22.535 ms 22.244 ms 22.004 ms
4 0.so-6-0-0.XL1.PHL6.ALTER.NET (152.63.3.77) 22.556 ms 22.845 ms 22.642 ms
5 0.so-7-0-0.XL3.LAX15.ALTER.NET (152.63.112.53) 98.813 ms 99.694 ms 99.297 ms
6 POS6-0-0.GW3.LAX15.ALTER.NET (152.63.112.105) 99.064 ms 99.075 ms 99.264 ms
7 internapGIGE-gw.customer.alter.net (157.130.236.110) 211.681 ms 188.354 ms 200.618 ms
8 border21.po2-20g-bbnet2.lax.pnap.net (216.52.255.102) 100.799 ms 100.404 ms 101.081 ms
9 newdream-8.border21.lax.pnap.net (216.52.220.146) 98.858 ms !X * *
10 * * *
In many traceroute implementations, including FreeBSD’s (which this is), !X
means “communication administratively prohibited”, so I’m pretty sure that
there is an ACL on that pnap.net border gateway that’s dropping packets.
(The same thing happens with TCP packets.)
It took another 36 hours or so (which I am certainly in a position to understand; who knows, maybe an electrician decided to take one of their production DCs completely offline like one did to mine), but that then yielded this:
From: DreamHost Sales Team
Subject: Re: [[REDACTED]@gmail.com [REDACTED]] Could you explain why you’re blackholing my source IP addr
Date: Tue, 24 Feb 2009 16:28:52 -0800 (PST)
To: [REDACTED]@gmail.com
Hello,
It does appear that your IP is being blocked at the router level. We blocked several IPs when a DOS Attack was launched on our panel. Please understand in such case we cannot indiscriminately block IPs. We simply block IPs that are attempting to gain access during the attack. At any event, the block has been removed. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused and appreciate your continued patience. If you have any additional questions, please let us know.
Thanks,
Brian S
I am just now, as in after this is posted, getting around to responding to ask whether they’ve got any change management documentation from when that block was put in place to document what I appeared to be doing because, as previously mentioned, I like to think I run an acceptably sound ship, and I’d like to know if I’m screwing up in some way so that I can fix it.
Overall, however, I am very, and unexpectedly, impressed with how well Dreamhost responded. Bravo!
Update: (2009-03-07 15:30 UTC-0500) Well, nothing’s perfect. They definitely didn’t understand what I meant when I asked for logs of any attack, mostly that I’m not one of their customers, but I do understand their privacy concerns:
From: DreamHost Sales Team
Subject: Re: [[REDACTED]@gmail.com [REDACTED]] Could you explain why you’re blackholing my source IP add
Date: Sat, 7 Mar 2009 06:10:12 -0800 (PST)
Hello Gabriel,
sorry again for blocking your IP, unfortunately there is no logging data that we can share with you on this matter due to security issues. Your IP could have been selected if you had multiple connection attempts to our panel which may have been a result of failed login attempts, unfortunately it seems to just have been a cyber case of being in the wrong place at the wrong time.
Thanks,
Javier R
Oh well.