Really, this isn't sour grapes; it's justifiably not all that newsworthy, but I want to record it somewhere…
Several days ago, Slashdot posted this article about the cyberangels.nl domain having been taken over by an anti-spam group, Spamvrij shortly after cyberangels.nl's hosting service had revoked ownership of the domain names.
Spamvrij started receiving all of the cyberangels.nl mail, since the MX record pointed to them now, and they posted an analysis of rhe mail that they received. Initially (and when I saw the story on /., not all that quickly after it was posted), this included an initial business proposition by someone named Mark <something> (I'm not concealing his identity, I really don't remember the last name). A copy of that initial email plus some explanatory notes was hosted here, which now gets you a 404. The basic content was that Mark wanted pricing on hosting services that cyberangels.nl could theoretically provide (despite the fact that he seemed to work for a hosting service himself).
The new owners of cyberangels.nl received yet another mail from Mark to Martijn the next day, basically following up on the first request. Then they received another email, disavowing all knowledge of “Cyber Angels” (his phrasing, I remember that much), suggesting that they were defaming him by posting emails he'd sent to their domain on their website, and threatening legal actions in murky terms.
Then all three letters disappeared, though you can still find references and HREF links to the first in the original analysis. It would seem either that the Spamvrij folks thought discretion the better part of valor, or that Mark made his legal threats less murky.
So. Who's got a mirrored copy of this site? Anyone know how to manipulate Google's cache to get a copy from there (I'm pretty sure this was up long enough to be cached, and there doesn't seem to be a robots.txt file on the new cyberangels.nl web server).
Post a Comment